ST BRIDES MINOR COMMUNITY COUNCIL



MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ST BRIDES MINOR COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 13th MAY 2024 AT SARN CENTRE AND VIA ZOOM

PRESENT

Councillors: Mark John

(Chair for items 1,2 & 3)

Bernard Tiltman (Chair items 4

onwards)

I Curzon

E Davies (via zoom) Y Walton-Davies

S Morgan T Nicholls

T Thomas (via zoom)

J Williams M Williams

Apologies: Councillors Rob Teahan-Dyer,

Paula Ford and Dan McConnell

Clerk & RFO: Ann Harris

Public: No public

1/2024 TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

As above.

2/2024 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

- Councillors M John, T Thomas and M Williams declared an interest in any matters relating to BCBC including Development Control for Councillor John
- Councillor E Davies declared an interest in Sarn Library Services
- Councillors M John, T Nicholls and T Thomas declared an interest in Ynysawdre Community Council
- Councillor Y Walton-Davies and M Williams declared an interest in Coity Higher Community Council
- Councillor M John declared an interest in the Community Gardens

3/2024 TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2024/25

Councillor B Tiltman was proposed and seconded as Chair. A vote was taken.

The Chair's Chain of Office was presented to Councillor Tilman

Resolved:

Councillor B Tiltman was unanimously elected Chair of Council and took over chairing the meeting from this point. Councillor Tiltman said it was an honour and a privilege to be elected to the role and thanked Councillor M John for his services to the Community Council as outgoing Chair. Councillor Tiltman signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4/2024 TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2024/25

Councillor S Morgan was proposed and seconded as Chair. A vote was taken.

A Vice-Chair's Chain of Office was presented to Councillor Morgan.

Resolved

Councillor Shaun Morgan was unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council and signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5/2024 TO RECEIVE A COPY OF THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MAY 2023 MEETING AS AN AIDE MEMOIRE

The minutes were received and noted.

6/2024 TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2024/2025

The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.

Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the 2nd Monday of the month and start at 6.00 pm with the exception of the May meeting which would follow the Ordinary Meeting, there is no meeting in August and the July meeting has been brought forward a week to allow for the Clerk's annual leave.

7/2024 TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE:

The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted

Resolved: the following would serve on the committees as set out below:

FINANCE COMMITTEE

- Councillor Ian Curzon
- Councillor Emma Davies
- Councillor Bernard Tiltman (Chair of Council)
- Councillor Terry Nicholls
- Councillor Shaun Morgan (Vice-Chair of Council and Chair of Finance)
- Councillor Martin Williams

STAFF AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES

- Councillor Rob Teahan-Dyer
- > Councillor Bernard Tiltman (Chair of Council)
- Councillor Dan McConnell
- Councillor Tim Thomas
- Councillor Martin Williams

8/2024 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FOLLOWING:

Resolved:

- It was unanimously agreed to the following:
- > BCBC T&CC Forum Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies
- Coity Wallia Board of Conservators Councillors Mark John and Yvonne Walton-Davies
- > One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor Shaun Morgan
- One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences Councillor Bernard Tiltman

9/2024 TO NOTE THE 2024/2025 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2023 PRECEPT MEETING

It was noted that allowances would be paid in line with the amounts set out in the above meetings and in the timescales agreed in the Allowances Policy

<u>Resolved:</u> The Clerk circulated an opt-out form and asked all Members to complete it and return it to her by 1st June 2024 it could be returned in person or left with the Clerk's mail at the library. An electronic copy would be sent out to those attending remotely.

10/2024 TO AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR THE 2023/24 AUDIT

It was noted that the agreed auditor for the financial year 2023/2024 was Mr N Davies.

Resolved:

It was agreed to engage the internal auditor services for financial year ending 31st March 2024 with Mr Norman Davies.

11/2024 TO AGREE THE COUNCIL'S SOLICITOR FOR 2024/25

Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that the council would continue to use Berry Smith Solicitors and David Prosser Solicitors

12/2024 AGREEMENT BY ALL TO ADOPT THE COUNCIL'S CODE OF CONDUCT

All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct.	
The meeting closed at 6.24 pm	
Chair of Council	10 th June 2023