Draft Summary of the Annual Meeting of St Brides Minor Community Council held on Monday 13th May 2024 at Sarn Lifelong Learning Centre and via Zoom

<u>Attendance</u>: Cllrs I Curzon, E Davies*, Y Walton-Davies, M John (Chair Items 1,2 and 3), S Morgan, T Nicholls, T Thomas*, B Tiltman (Chair Item 4 onwards), J Williams, M Williams

*via zoom

Apologies: Councillors R Teahan-Dyer, P Ford and D McConnell

Public: 0 members of the public were present and 0 members of SW Police

Declarations of Interest:

Cllrs M John, T Thomas and M Williams declared an interest in all BCBC Matters, including Development Control and Planning for Cllr M John.

Cllr M John declared an interest as a tenant of the Community Gardens and Councillor Shaun Morgan declared an interest as a tenant of Bryncethin Allotment Gardens.

Cllrs Y Walton-Davies and M Williams declared an interest as Members of Coity Higher Community Council.

Cllrs M John, T Nicholls and T Thomas declared an interest as members of Ynysawdre Community Council

Councillor E Davies declared an interest in all Library Services matters as an employee of Awen Cultural Trust

Minute Number	Agenda Item	Action
1/2024	Apologies for Absence	As above
2/2024	Declarations of Interest	As above
3/2024	To Appoint a Chair for the Year 2024/25	 Councillor B Tiltman was unanimously elected Chair of Council and took over chairing the meeting from this point. Councillor Tiltman said it was an honour and a privilege to be elected to the role and thanked Councillor M John for his services to the Community Council as outgoing Chair. Councillor Tiltman signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
4/2024	To Appoint a Vice-Chair for the Year 2024/25	• Councillor Shaun Morgan was unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council and signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
5/2024	To Receive a Copy of the Minutes of the Annual May 2023 Meeting	• The minutes were received and noted.

	as an Aide Memoire	
6/2024	To Determine a Timetable of Meetings for 2024/2023	 It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the 2nd Monday of the month and start at 6.00 pm with the exception of the May meeting which would follow the Ordinary Meeting, there is no meeting in August and the July meeting has been brought forward a week to allow for the Clerk's annual leave.
7/2024	To Appoint Committees and Agree their Terms of Reference	The following were appointed: FINANCE COMMITTEE
		 Councillor Ian Curzon Councillor Emma Davies Councillor Bernard Tiltman (Chair of Council) Councillor Terry Nicholls Councillor Shaun Morgan (Vice-Chair of Council and Chair of Finance) Councillor Martin Williams
		STAFF AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES
		 Councillor Rob Teahan-Dyer Councillor Bernard Tiltman (Chair of Council) Councillor Dan McConnell Councillor Tim Thomas Councillor Martin Williams
8/2024	To Appoint Representatives to the following:	 BCBC T&CC Forum - Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies Coity Wallia Board of Conservators - Councillors Mark John and Yvonne Walton- Davies One Voice Wales Area Committee - Councillor Shaun Morgan One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences - Councillor Bernard Tiltman
9/2024	To Note the 2024/2025 Allowances for the Chair and Vice-Chair as agreed at the December 2023 Precept Meeting	 It was noted that allowances would be paid in line with the amounts set out in the above meetings and in the timescales agreed in the Allowances Policy. The Clerk circulated an opt-out form and asked all Members to complete it and

		 return it to her by 1st June 2024 it could be returned in person or left with the Clerk's mail at the library. An electronic copy would be sent out to those attending remotely.
10/2024	To Agree the Internal Auditor for the 2023/24 Audit	 It was agreed to engage the internal auditor services for financial year ending 31st March 2024 with Mr Norman Davies.
11/2024	To Agree the Council's Solicitor for 2024/25	 It was unanimously agreed that the council would continue to use Berry Smith Solicitors and David Prosser Solicitors
12/2024	Agreement by All to Adopt the Council's Code of Conduct	 All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct